Yesterday I was at the pool with the kids and I didn't coat the SPF on me like I should. I mean, the kids were covered but I really need some color. AND it was late in the day so low chance of sunburn. But as I lay there stricken with guilt, I was remembering a time when the whole POINT was to either tan or burn or whatever would change the WHITE skin a different summer shade.
Let's go back to say, the summer of 1985. I can remember that I would go out about 10:00 am to start this "tanning" process. If luck would have it, my friends and I would go to the beach or lay out together at least w/ maybe even foil under our legs (so trick of the trade to attract the MOST sun) but worse case scenario, I could just lay out my own yard. The good news was my skin cancer concerned mother was working now as a nurse she was mostly gone otherwise, she would be ALL over me for the great lengths I would go to be "tan". Once I had the body part correct - baby oil, foil, spray bottle of water, I would turn my attention to my hair. My next goal was to get my already blonde hair even blonder. I would use whatever I could - lemon juice or Sun-In. The only conflict I would have during this particuliar summer would be - do I continue to lay out from 12-1 or do I go in and watch All My Children. There were a few times I actually brought our kitchen TV out to the patio to be able to accomplish both the burn and the soap.
That night would be fabulous. I was tan (burned) and blonder than ever. The only thing that would make this night perfection was if we would see some boy we were liking AND if they would play Bananarama's "Cool Summer" followed by Tears for Fears "Everybody wants to rule the world..."
It's a cool (cool) cool summer.......
That was a really great summer!
The writings of your every day basic stay at home Realtor Mom! The current stream of thoughts from parenting to friendship to life as a Realtor...
Wednesday, June 23, 2010
Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Summer
Well, it's here. Each summer I say,"I want to enjoy summer and not feel too scheduled". But then there are always hundreds of fun things to do making "chilling out" tough to do. But as with everything in life, I search for balance. It takes countless hours to get that summer schedule the way you really want it. I mean there's always swimming. I always like to go on a summer quick trip. There's Theater Camp. Can't miss Vacation Bible School. What about the 4th of July? And we should definitely go camping. But finally I have the summer calender just perfect.
Today is kind of our first day of summer. The kids do go back tomorrow but only for an hour to pick up report cards. But today we had very little planned. Peter had summer preschool in the morning but after that - free as birds.
Some of us woke up disgruntled. I am confident, if you know me at all, you are well aware of who that was. As I tried to shake the attitude and multiple displays of disrespect, a panic set in. HOLY SHIT - it's only 8:00. Oh no.....this is a horrible start to summer. And if I am honest, I will admit it took me hours to get over the BAD behavior of one of my children b/c when you set yourself up to believe something (a fun breezy peaceful summer day) and you get something else (a tense annoying crumby summer day) - it sucks.
But finally I did get over it. Just in time to counsel Maeve about what she could POSSIBLY do with her free time today. She was having a hard time b/c 2 of her friends she wanted to have over were not home. She was so depressed, she couldn't even eat lunch. So I finally come up with an idea she is quite happy with- she can go bike to a friends and then they can bike back here. HOORAY.
All the while, Peter is requesting another play date. He went to school. Then he played w/ our neighbors. The kid had a pretty darn good morning. Alas, not enough for Mr. Nicoll. Cry cry, moan moan.....life's not fair.
But I will say that at about 2:00, everyone was happy. I shook off the aggravation from earlier, both girls had peaceful friends over and Peter was happily bouncing between the groups. I took that opportunity to sit on my deck swing and enjoy the sun.
Ahhhhhhh. Summer!
Today is kind of our first day of summer. The kids do go back tomorrow but only for an hour to pick up report cards. But today we had very little planned. Peter had summer preschool in the morning but after that - free as birds.
Some of us woke up disgruntled. I am confident, if you know me at all, you are well aware of who that was. As I tried to shake the attitude and multiple displays of disrespect, a panic set in. HOLY SHIT - it's only 8:00. Oh no.....this is a horrible start to summer. And if I am honest, I will admit it took me hours to get over the BAD behavior of one of my children b/c when you set yourself up to believe something (a fun breezy peaceful summer day) and you get something else (a tense annoying crumby summer day) - it sucks.
But finally I did get over it. Just in time to counsel Maeve about what she could POSSIBLY do with her free time today. She was having a hard time b/c 2 of her friends she wanted to have over were not home. She was so depressed, she couldn't even eat lunch. So I finally come up with an idea she is quite happy with- she can go bike to a friends and then they can bike back here. HOORAY.
All the while, Peter is requesting another play date. He went to school. Then he played w/ our neighbors. The kid had a pretty darn good morning. Alas, not enough for Mr. Nicoll. Cry cry, moan moan.....life's not fair.
But I will say that at about 2:00, everyone was happy. I shook off the aggravation from earlier, both girls had peaceful friends over and Peter was happily bouncing between the groups. I took that opportunity to sit on my deck swing and enjoy the sun.
Ahhhhhhh. Summer!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)