When I sit down to write blogs like this one....(which is the whole reason I blog - just to be honest about my life knowing/hoping that it connects with someone so that if they, too, have these issues, they will know they are not alone), I always feel compelled to first gush a little - have great kids, super sweet, kind, fun, loving, appreciative. I guess I want everyone to know that I adore my children even though I need to sit down to blog about why parenting is
SO SO hard!! So it's like a disclaimer.
Disclaimer - Even though this blog may indicate that I am about to move to Idaho to escape parenting all together, I will survive and stay put b/c I love my super sweet, kind, fun, loving and some times appreciative kids.
I know all moms know what I am talking about. You start out calm. Everything is under control. I have corrected the same behavior (rudeness or meanness or disrespect - the 3 big NO NO's at my house) for the 42nd time today. But even so, I am still strong and clear. I simply state, after lunch you will have to spend time in your room. Now...she already has a play date scheduled at 3:00 which I can't cancel b/c they are coming to my house from the pool. So I am screwed here - no leverage. Anyway, back to the plan - "you will go to your room when you are done eating until Mia gets here". Daughter - "then I will never finish eating". SO many choices here - which one do I chose? Do I ignore so not to engage? Do I pick her up and take her to her room? Do I move Peter, me and Maeve from the situation? I choose to ignore. THEN, said child takes bits of her pizza and tosses it in my direction - about 3 times. I look at her like she has got to have lost her mind to do such a thing.
'Go to your room".
NO
I pick her up and bring to room - she is screaming "ouch, your hurting me". I put her in her room - a room that has 2 entrances. She and I spend about 2 minutes going in and out of her room and me staying calm. She walks towards 1 door and I go to block it, she goes to the other door and I go to block it. I am still calm. I even say "you are not going to go out there and ruin everyone's afternoon". I am calm. I try to say "look at how you were behaving at lunch". Daughter - screaming crying. I think
I am the only one who deserves to scream and cry. After the billionth time of her trying to leave her room, I snap and am now screaming - the very thing I was trying so hard to avoid. I was trying SO hard to remain calm and clear. I yell "don't get off this bed". She actually stands up. STANDS UP. WHAT?????? She says "I hate living here". All I can think of is
REALLY? You hate living at a place that will not allow you to throw food at your mother - yep, that's tough living. So I said, "okay, then leave.". I pick her up and bring her outside, lock the doors and went to bed. I laid in bed until i was calm and clear again - like a nice time out. All the while, she was pounding on the door and ringing the bell but I didn't care b/c at least she wasn't in here. After about 5 minutes, I unlock the back door. She comes eventually.
To be honest, I am done. If she comes in great, if not, I don't care. DONE. I have zero interest in correcting the behavior of an 8 year old who thinks it's okay to throw pizza at her mother. NONE. And when I am this mad, I am really done.....I almost boycott all parenting all together. That's the power of L, she completely sucks me dry to the bone. I just want to go to bed and call it a day. But alas, I must carry on. I must continue to parent. They will eventually have to eat. I will have to dry her pizza throwing ass to ballet later. I will HAVE to carry on. This is when i get even madder. She took a beautiful peaceful day and pecked away at it slowly but surely until we arrived at this moment. Her alone in her room (which is all i was ever asking for anyway!!!!!!) listening to music and the other 2 still requesting shit from me - can friends come over, can you come watch me to do a somersault, can you buy me a new helmet.
And here's the kicker - now
I feel like shit. Like a bad parent b/c I lost my temper. That last helping of guilt and self loathing is the added bonus that I accepted at part of life the day I said "hey hon, I think I want to have a baby".
I was just trying to have a good day.