The writings of your every day basic stay at home Realtor Mom! The current stream of thoughts from parenting to friendship to life as a Realtor...
Sunday, March 27, 2011
Go ahead and eat like shit
I had a light bulb moment today. Why am I spending so much time and energy into feeding my children. I mean, I would be a much happier person if that was a fight that I didn't have to have. So, I am giving up. I do not care. Here's a bit of the message I am sending to the Nicoll Three. Dear Children, It's my job to ensure you eat well enough to grow. It's my job to make sure you aren't starved or dehydrated. I will make sure those 2 things do not occur. But I can no longer muster up enough energy to create an entirely different meal for you so that you indeed eat. Because, even when I do that, you end up eating yogurt at 8:00 anyway. I can't keep track if Lily had chocolate milk 2 times to the 1 time that Maeve had chocolate milk. From today on, I will make dinner one way. The way Daddy and I want to eat it. You are welcome to eat that meal. I will not answer "what are we having for dinner". I will not try to make your dinner different than our's in hopes that it's more what you like. I am not not going to worry if you have had enough milk or fruits and the constant worry that none of you consume veggies outside of potato chips. I will not buy the cinnamon waffles you all love b/c you eat the box in 1 day and then fight about who had the last one. Frankly, 2 of the 3 of your are too old for this nonsense. So, eat what I cook or don't eat. Eat what I buy or don't eat. Enter my kitchen at your own risk. LOVE, your over-worked, underpaid and fairly undernourished herself Mother.
Wednesday, March 23, 2011
Finally
I have had a million things to write about....kids, the Foundation Dinner/Auction, my constant eye on the ever changing face of politics, my obsession with progressive talk radio and even the tough times we find ourselves in our own school district. But I have either not had the words, the time, the creative energy or the freedom to write without constantly editing myself. Today, I have a real purpose. My baby is turning 5 tomorrow. It breaks my heart a little bit every day to think of him leaving being a baby for being a big boy. If he wasn't still so affectionate and completely devoted to me, I would have to be committed. Lock the doors. Mama's breaking down. Peter most certainly has it all right now - he's hilarious, he's loving, he wants me to still hold him but he can also tell a great story. His words and tone mingle in and out of serious and funny. He plays "house" and then star wars. He runs and kicks like a hot shot and then plays dress up with his sisters. I am proud to say that I think he charms the pants off everyone he meets. And even with the world as his oyster, he says he wants to marry me. How did I get so lucky? I really don't know but I really believe God knew we needed him. I know some day he will truly be over me....he'll be too big to hold, embarrassed to play make believe and even marry some other girl. But for now, even at 5, he's still a mama's boy.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)