Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Victory

Well - Peter finally peed in the potty - I was so happy.. I nearly cried. I yelled with joy and gave him ice cream. Now he may never do it again, but I was SO happy. Victory!
Also successfully beat down a buyer. Feels greater than you can imagine. I am SO SICK of buyers thinking they can push sellers around. This market has created selfish ruthless bastards as buyers. What the hell? So anyway, I just didn't let up on a particular issue and then the white flag was raised. Kick ass. Could have gone either way...But I loved it....I have to say I enough mean-ness in me to really just kick some ass....I am going to put it on my business card....
Julia Nicoll
Picket Fence Realty
Motto - "don't mess with me you rat bastard buyers who are under 35 years old and think you deserve it all.....you don't!"

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

good night

Long day...and a funny one I am sure when I look back at it. But the best line tonight was when I was telling someone on the phone that Peter had pooped in the hallway upstairs and then he looked at me and said "tell them you screamed". So sweet.
So off to bed....

loosing my mind

I write today as I think....things are happening around me and I am gong to just type....I am so sick of thinking about Peter and his damn pee. Personally I don't give shit if he is potty trained or not. It's just social presuure - and the presure of school and it all goes under the "are you a shitty parent b/c your kid does __________" umbrella. Oh, I am a shitty parent b/c he also still has a pacifier. The list is so extensive that I can't even keep writing...
But my general patience is evaporating for all things that involve my "fixing"....discipline, pooping, kid problems, dinners.....enough. I can barely fix MYSELF.
So the kids have friends over. Peter threw a tantrum. I basically put my back out trying to pick him up. My neck is sore. I sitll have tons to do....But to be quite honest with myself, I would prefer to just take a nap. To have the curtains open to the sun can bake me while the breeze rushes in. For teh only sounds to be wind and a ramdom lawn mower. But alas, I have a new problem to FIX. I just heard Peter say "i hate you dumb dumb". So I guess I hsould go address that...."we don't say that in this house!" (although clearly we do). "You need to apologize". "That is hurtful".....
Oh...and let's change you f''in pants b/c they are soaked with urine.

Monday, July 27, 2009

Juncal is coming!

So we will have an exchange student from Spain arrive on Wednesday. She will turn 17 while with us. I don't think the girls could be any more excited. They are beaming with ideas - Maeve wants to make her cupcakes and Lily wants to make her a cake on her birthday. We worked last night in Maeve's room, so that Juncal can stay there...OH MY, that room. Obviously I am in it every day however, when you REALLY look....I mean, I have done a diservice to that girl. I have somehow not taught her to throw stuff out...maybe this is what she inherited from Grandma Onnalee. She'd like to think of herself as a "collector" but that's just her fancy word she wants to use when I find candy wrappers in a box from Halloween....WHAT????? So we survived. And she actually did pretty well. ONly one time did she cry. It was when I suggested we throw a doll away -It was a cheap, little dirty doll that has to be a million years old. She started bawling...I tried to explain that the doll has clearly NOT been taken care of but....she wouldn't have that. So the doll is up there still....But we made TONS of progress.
So I have to really clean the house - you know, dust, bathrooms, vacuum upstairs...
AND I have some real estate stuff to get to...
And the grocery store.
WOW _ what a weekend...Friday we went to the Cubs game and ate high on the hog...Breakfast at Southport Grocery and then dinner at Leona's...Fun was had by all but I think Lily was bored...which I understand. The game is long especially if you don't have any interest. Saturday was the MP Block party....so nice, so fun but 1 million humans were there...YIKES. But an excellent affair. Makes me happy to live here. Sunday we saw Fiddler on the Roof. Our sitter Carvel was in it...it was truly amazing...again, I think long for Peter and maybe lily could have used more breaks...but I was singing along and on my feet.
While I truck along in life....working on raising my brood and having a thriving work life and marriage, I realize that others are suffering. I know that others have had a tough go of it...And this is something that I always feel so compelled to realize...Kind of like a "life check"....a little perspective. As mentioned before, our little town has had loss - of parents and children. And I guess I feel a sense of guilt that I forget them as far as my daily life goes...and then I am reminded. And I am thankful and sad.

Thursday, July 23, 2009

summer..

Lily "Mommy - come here" (moan, whine, moan)
Me "you come here".
Lily"we always come to you"
Me "I am the mother".
Lily - moan, whine, moan

Better than the other day when she woke up -her hair all crazy, eyes squinting from the sun and she says "it's all your fault".

Well, good morning.

Finally we have kicked into a totally relaxed state of summer....people sleep in, no rushing out the door, drinking my coffee and playing in the internet. We get serious about 9:30...but until then, a nice slow summer morning. This morning, I will read them 2 new books I got a the library - they are brand new Picture books and I think we are the first to check them out. I am reading The Piano Teacher - highly recommended by my papa. A very wise and well read man.

Had such a great time with the Keasels last night....friends from Ohio - Well friends from teh city but they live in Ohio now. I love Jill Keasel, I really do. How much do I wish she lived next door? How hard did I laugh last night?

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Why I love Peter


I love Peter for so many reasons. First of all, he is just my boy - loves me so much. I FEEL that love and know I can count on a big amount of affection from him every day. Who wouldn't love that? Also - I love him b/c he can hang with the girls with no problems. Loves Maeve so much. He would go anywhere with her - a true love affair between them. He IS a boy - loves wrestling around and making crocodile sounds and hunting for sharks. But he also can have as much fun having a tea party with the girls or watching The Brady Bunch. He is also VERY funny. Every day he says something that makes me laugh. Right now he loves to talk like he's a big shot...such a funny voice. He is a lover and I just adore him! All who remember that shocking day in July 4 years ago when I realized I was pregnant know that I was certainly NOT ready for another baby....but God knew that this mama needed her boy.

Monday, July 20, 2009

You don't like me - I don't like you...

I found out today that this person who I showed houses to yesterday - you know the ones - don't trust my wisdom in Real Estate. SO....basically b/c I am young. He would prefer to work with someone else who is older and perhaps a man. Well, he IS a man but I meant perhaps that is another reason. I didn't feel good about this person from the minute we met. And I must say, I have excellent initial judgement with people. ANYWAY - there were a few things that happened yesterday that just weren't right. No need to get into them right now. I found out today that this person would probably prefer to work with someone else. And at first I was irritated and worried - maybe I was too casual, maybe I should have known more, maybe I should have spoken differently. But then - I realized not everyone needs to like me. I certainly didn't like him. So I think it's worked out best. In this business, when people blatantly blow you off, you can really take it personally. It can get you down. But after 5+ years, I KNOW I am a good Realtor, so I don't need others to think it too. SO much in my life I have worried about what people thought of me....but to be honest, I don't love all the people I know. We forget that it goes both ways.
It's a mature and enlightened way of thinking. This is the 41 year old me. Took a long time to get me here, that is for sure. However, damning these people to hell for wasting my time is not beneath me ......

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Real Estate

Well - I spent 2 afternoons w/ this couple that have decided to make an offer on a house. With a hint of "you can thank me later" in his voice, he said "boy, just a couple of afternoons and you got a sale - lucky you". I tried to politely say that I have spent months upon months w/ clients that didn't result in a sale. I have spent many consecutive summers with some families who could never make a decision or countless hours w/ extremely high maintenance clients (not that I would ever mention their barely famous rock star names - Frankie Sullivan) who ended up buying through another Realtor only after sucking the real esate life right of me. (Not that I am still bitter about that one!) So once in a while, when someone buys right away, I don't consider is luck. I consider it pay back for the wasted time that I have spent in this field. Hopefully in the end, it all equals itself out. But you never know...

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Music

I have been listening to a Blue Grass CD a friend made me - Thanks sTEF! I love it...I have been singing my heart out. THEN, after a very long and stressful day, I put in "The best of The Cars". And I am here to say that the next time I am in a bad mood, I am going to put it on...b/c you can't not rock to "just what you needed"....the guitar, the words...man, I was rocking out. I let out all of my stress on that song...all in the drive thru of Dunkin Donuts. They thought I was nuts and I didn't care.
So today I had 2 closings...I will blog about them tomorrow when the energy is higher. But basically, 2 people just moved into Mt Prospect who probably should have stayed in the city.

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

others too...

I keep checking the undomestic.blogspot. I wrote about her before. She is a friend of mine's sister. She is very sick with cancer and keeps a blog. I am afraid she is not doing well. She is not blogging right now. I keep checking but nothing.

Tired

Well, today was huge. A ton of stress left me. 2 deals on the line...and way too much stress from top to bottom. But I received the big "clear to close" call today and I felt like a million bucks! So...when people ask "how is real estate going", I can now stop saying "Good, except I feel like puking".
My girls both mentioned today how much MY work bothers them. That I am ALWAYS gone. So...I am happy that after tomorrow, I will have a break. I think. We all need it. And that is just another great thing about real estate - it's a job that comes and goes with it's fruits and it's stresses.
Peter pooped in the potty tonight. SO exciting. And it's my parent's 42nd wedding anniversary.
I slept very little last night, so I think I will go to bed early.

Monday, July 13, 2009

summer fun

Well the Nicolls just had a great week. We went to a friend's lake house at Dewart Lake. The big thrill was catching turtles. Then we headed out to Shipshewana (Ship-she to the locals) and lived amongst the Amish. It was awesome. We saw tons of Amish families and their beautiful farms. Shipshewana was great - a real Amish town. They just come on in town just like we did. We had a great hotel w/ a pool and park and breakfast - a bonus for everyone. I love taking this annual "indiana" trip w/ the kids. I always fee proud that I can do it on my own. And we just have a fun time...no real responsibilities...just fun stuff to do. Even wathing a marathon of The Cosby Show at our hotel before bed was fun, Then we headed to my parents for the night. We hit our usual hot spot of Langels Pizza in downtown HIghland and then the park. On Friday, rob drove down and we left for Saugatuk, Michigan for the weekend - alone. AWESOME. The kids stayed at my parents and of course, loved that. They went to the Dunes and a restaurant that brings your meal to you on a train. They did crafts and played and had a blast. Meanwhile, rob and I loved our weekend - great food, fabulous bed and breakfast and just peace. We kayaked and went to the beach and took tons of walks and ate SO well...We came back to Griffith yesterday to pick up the kids and had a great meal - steaks, salad.
So now we are home..house is a mess, no food anywhere but I sitll feel pretty relaxed. Despite the ongoing real estate stressors and hectic schedule. I hope I can maintain this state of mind.

Saturday, July 4, 2009

Kids

Last night I had the privilege of watching our kids and their friends have one of the greatest night's of the year. We had what has become an annual 3rd of July party. They PLAY hard, eat very little until the s'mores come out, and are totally bummed when the night comes to an end. What makes me happy is that it's a simple party - just friends, food, bonfire, sparklers and s'mores. And all are so happy.
One thing Rob Nicoll and I do very well is give a party. I do what I do. He does what he does. And the party comes together nicely with very little muss and fuss.
I count my blessings at times like these - times that are especially celebratory. Because I know that I am LUCKY. There is a family a couple blocks away who lost their 4th grade daughter last July 4th. There is another family in Mt. Prospect who brought their 5th grade daughter home from surgery yesterday to remove a cancerous tumor. I have a friend (or 2 maybe) whose marriage is completely falling apart. The list goes on....I am lucky. And I know it.

Friday, July 3, 2009

I'll never be perfect

I am sure that no one expects me to remember a lesson we all learned in high school science. I mean, I can't even remember when Maeve has piano lessons. So no one should be surprised when I put a glass container of Oberweiss milk in the freezer and it of course, expands, breaks and leaks mlik all over the freezer. Hmmm, it's embarrassing to know that I SHOULD know better right?? I am a bright person. But again, it should be no surprise that knowledge that entered into my brain some 20 years ago, should remain entact. I am day to day with all information - old and new. I have diagnozed myself with Parent Dementia - I am sure you will find it in the DSM.
Peter now can't be away from me. It's sweet. I must admit, I love it. Yesterday we were in teh bathroom together, when I left the bathroom and walked directly into my bedroom. He walked in .09 seconds later and said "oh, there you are". Seriously how funny is that.
Mary Poppins was delightful. I have been singing Spoonful of Sugar nonstop and I will admit, no one is enjoying it but me.
Just finished reading Testimony by Anita Shreeve. Super good. We also watched Frost/Nixon the other nigth - also very good.
Oh Mister Sun Sun, Mr. Golden Sun, please shine down on me...
Happy 7/3 to all!