Friday, May 28, 2010

Life in Mount Prospect

At the risk of sounding overly sappy, I just had to write this blog about Mt. Prospect, my childrens' 3rd parent, and gush a little. So please raise your glasses, I would like to make a toast!

So many times throughout the years, I have cursed my home b/c I am shoving more things into a small 1949 closet or rearranging furniture AGAIN to make best use of the space. But it doesn't even take a full breath for me to say "shame on you!!". I tell people when I am showing houses this exact thing......yes a lot of people have 1 car garages and share an outdated small bathroom with 4 other people but what makes these bitter pills easier to swallow? WE get to live here!!! I know that we have problems with our houses that come with age - clogged sewer lines, archaic and even dangerous electrical systems, and the most common irritation - LIVING ON TOP OF EACH OTHER in our tiny rooms that form a home. But I cannot stress enough how all of those things are so worth it for me personally. So the price of a house doesn't just cover the physical space of that home and lot, it covers so much more. It covers those intangibles that in the end, are the most important parts of "home". It covers the obvious things like great schools and a beautiful resourceful library. It covers the train accessibility and proximity to Chicago. But I really think the thing that makes every dime worth spending is the PEOPLE.

I have always had great pride in where I am from. I thought the Ready Elementary Rockets were the best students in town. I thought the Griffith Panthers were the toughest teams to beat. I thought that being from the "region" made me stronger than most others. And I thought that Hanover College was a perfect place to graduate. It's not that I ever felt I was better than anyone else, I just have always been extremely proud of where I have come. I am proud Hoosier, Chicagoan and now Mt. Prospector. And I am also not suggesting that we are the only town that swells with unmistakable pride. I know there are hundreds of towns out there that feel the same way, I am just saying we are SO lucky that we have it here.

Recently I dealt with clients who aren't from here. They didn't really "get it". They aren't especially excited to be a part of this community b/c I think they think it's just a town. No big deal. Hopefully this changes for them or they will miss out on so much. So between these clients adverse reaction to community pride and our recent brush with fun and fame with Lee DeWyze, it made me really think about how lucky we all are. I mean, yes we all liked Lee b/c he was sweet and a great singer but more than that, I think we liked it b/c we did it TOGETHER. Would it be as much fun to watch the finale from home or to be with thousands of others? I chose the thousands of others and we all shared one thing that night and I think that's what made it so great. We did it together. I think the same holds true for everything around here. Again, Capanarri's is good ice cream but we have other good ice cream in town but we go to Caps b/c that's where we go to be with others. The "others" might not even be people we know, but it just feels better that we are there with our community.

It's a gift I feel so fortunate to be able to give the kids. Rob and I knew the first day we lived in our house that this town was different. We had lived somewhere else for 4 years and felt more "at home" in the first 24 hours in MP. The Jakes Pizza delivery guy actually said "welcome to Mt Prospect"....I couldn't believe that. How did he even know we just moved in??? Then the next day the UPS guy actually rang the bell and said "welcome to Mt. Prospect". WHAT???? What is this craziness? I started to think we were living in Pleasantville. Neighbors brought us banana bread and other trinkets. One neighbor made a list of everyones names of our whole block. We knew we made the greatest choice and it had nothing to do with the actual house.

The whole gig here is that we care about each other, we really do. And God forbid if tragedy hits your family, but if it does, there is no better town ready to support you and lift you up like Mt. Prospect. We have lost children and parents to cancer and illness and we cared for them and their families with just as much passion as we cheered for Lee DeWyze. Because if you live in MP, you are loved, no matter what.

So here's to MP - my kids' 3rd parent. It really does take a Village and we are blessed to have this one!

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Living the dream...

Last Tuesday while driving Peter to preschool, I had the big "lecture" to the kids about attitudes and not being appreciative of stuff like...their whole life. I KNOW we as parents aren't supposed to lecture b/c kids hear "blah blah blah" but it's my "go to" when I have nothin' else. So with the craziness of the Lee DeWyze stuff and end of the school year concerts, field trips and other festivities, my children are LIVING THE DREAM. I mean, they have had Capannari's ice cream 4 times in a week at various outings. All for very good reasons - Fairview Spirit Day, Lee DeWyze parade, school function, and then a school field trip. Add that to parades, play dates, bonfires, more playdates, and other random fun and what we have is TOO much of a good thing. So when the kids all had "attitude" w/ their unbelievably generous, loving and patient as a saint mother, mama had to have a little chat. I started local - explaining that I was SURE there were kids in their school that have never EVER had Capannari's. Then I broadened it a bit w/ that in CHICAGO there are kids who go to schools that don't do "special lunch" or field trips. And finally, I layed out that there are kids in our own country and beyond who are hungry and cold and lonely. There was silence in the car and I was so glad that my point was made. We MUST appreciate what we have or it means nothing.

The evening that followed "the lecture", we once again, went to Caps b/c that was our Fairview Spirit Day. They all had ice cream and ran around w/ friends for 30 minutes. Then we get home and both Peter and Lily start opening the pantry. Of course, I say "you just had ice cream, I am making dinner, close the pantry". Lily proceeded to roll, cry, moan and Peter pouted and carried on. WHAT??????? Are these kids totally insane? I think a total LOCKDOWN is needed!

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Life is a party!

2 blogs in one day!

Peter Nicoll has somehow learned that every day holds the potential for some fun. Or a treat. Or both fun and treats. Clearly, this comes from the top down. Kids don't know about Fannie Mae unless you bring them there and they don't expect play dates unless they often have them. So I have spoiled this young pup and man am I paying the price!! Here is a list of questions I get every single day from Peter Nicoll.

What I got today?

Are we going to Fannie Mae?

Can we get some Capannaris?

What about Oberweiss?

Can i go to Zachary's?

Or Matt and Cadens?

Can Seth come and play?

Can I go to the Play Place?

Can we make cake?

I hear the ice cream truck?

Can we go to the office for a lollipop?

And when he knows I can no longer take these ongoing requests, he changes all the questions into the following ever so SLY format.

I don't know when I will get ice cream again?

I bet I hear Zachary outside?

I don't understand why we can't go to the library?

I don't know why Ava's not over at our house?

A few updates...

Well, i had my "sit down" and it was successful. I feel like am way more informed about our finances. With all the questions I had regarding life insurance and mutual funds, Rob was a bit paranoid that I might take him out in the middle of the night. It's good to keep people on their toes....I also learned how to do Itunes. I am really growing up!

TEN. Well, I have vivid memories of arguing w/ my mom and knowing I had the will and strength to go the distance so it shouldn't surprise me that my 10 year old has the same might. I am 42 now. I am tired. I no longer have the power to engage in such nonsense. So I must dig deep and ignore right? Because here's how it's shaking out over at my house lately.

Scenario 1
"Maeve, you are chewing gum every day. That's horrible for your teeth. Gum is a treat and you should only chew it occasionally".

Maeve, "I don't chew gum every day".

Me, "yes, you do".

Maeve, "No I don't."

Scenario 2
"Maeve, Grace needs to stop calling here every 15 minutes".

"She doesn't call every 15 minutes", she protests.

Me, "I have the caller ID to prove it. Stop arguing w/ everything I say."

Maeve, "She doesn't call every 15 minutes.".

OH MY GOD, YES SHE DOES!!!!!! Can you hear the screaming in my head???!!!

Scenario 3
"Can I ask a friend to come over to watch Idol".

"No"

"Why"

"Because, we jsut don't need to have friends w/ us all of the time".

"Why?"

BECAUSE I SAID NO!!!!!!!!

Scenario 4
"Maeve, you have been arguing with me non stop. If I say the sky is gray, you say "no, it's blue" and it's really aggrevating me so stop">

Maeve, "I don't argue with you every day".

YES YOU DO!!!!!!

Saturday, May 1, 2010

What do I do?

Last night I told Rob that I thought we should have a "sit down" so that I could learn a few things. Like how to download pictures from the camera to the computer. And how to connect the video camera to the TV. Also maybe I should have on paper exactly what we have for life insurance and mutual funds. I mean, if something happens to Rob, I want to know what's happening. Because to be honest, I really don't a have a clue. I must admit, I have NO memory of what we have done to cars - if or when got new tires or brakes or when any maintenance is due. So I started thinking that we truly have divided responsibilities but when I REALLY started thinking about it, what the hell do I do???
Rob
technology
finances (and the bills)
cars
house PROBLEMS
dog poop
garbage
snow/lawn

ME
Meals
Coordination of extra curriculurs
House cleaning
Laundry
Purging of crap in the house
Social calender
Flowers
Vacations
Church

YIKES - I am having a hard time thinking about what I really do. I do bring the garbage cans back up or I have the kids do it. I do most of the grocery shopping although Rob does this too. YIKES. I am feeling a bit spoiled. Hold on - there's got to be some big stuff I do.....Okay, I do all DRS appts but Rob does do the dentist as I am a dental phobe. Okay, I also volunteer throughout town with random activities and Rob's only volunteer job is serving beer tent for Oktoberfest.
So anyway, I guess I have drawn the conclusion that I lean on Rob way too much. I should be able to download pictures dammit and I should probably stop asking him to remind me if we have life insurance or not. I think he's told me the answer to that several times but somehow, I just can't keep it straight with all of the social planning I am responsible for!