Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Living the dream...

Last Tuesday while driving Peter to preschool, I had the big "lecture" to the kids about attitudes and not being appreciative of stuff like...their whole life. I KNOW we as parents aren't supposed to lecture b/c kids hear "blah blah blah" but it's my "go to" when I have nothin' else. So with the craziness of the Lee DeWyze stuff and end of the school year concerts, field trips and other festivities, my children are LIVING THE DREAM. I mean, they have had Capannari's ice cream 4 times in a week at various outings. All for very good reasons - Fairview Spirit Day, Lee DeWyze parade, school function, and then a school field trip. Add that to parades, play dates, bonfires, more playdates, and other random fun and what we have is TOO much of a good thing. So when the kids all had "attitude" w/ their unbelievably generous, loving and patient as a saint mother, mama had to have a little chat. I started local - explaining that I was SURE there were kids in their school that have never EVER had Capannari's. Then I broadened it a bit w/ that in CHICAGO there are kids who go to schools that don't do "special lunch" or field trips. And finally, I layed out that there are kids in our own country and beyond who are hungry and cold and lonely. There was silence in the car and I was so glad that my point was made. We MUST appreciate what we have or it means nothing.

The evening that followed "the lecture", we once again, went to Caps b/c that was our Fairview Spirit Day. They all had ice cream and ran around w/ friends for 30 minutes. Then we get home and both Peter and Lily start opening the pantry. Of course, I say "you just had ice cream, I am making dinner, close the pantry". Lily proceeded to roll, cry, moan and Peter pouted and carried on. WHAT??????? Are these kids totally insane? I think a total LOCKDOWN is needed!

No comments: