Wednesday, January 12, 2011

How I can prove PMS is real!

I have had approximately 424 periods in my life. But somehow, each month I am surprised by this PMS thing. I don't even honestly realize it until day 2 or 3. So how can I prove that PMS is real?
Because for 28 days of the month I live with a small kitchen. For 3 days of the month I live in a kitchen where people are intentionally standing in front of drawers and dishwashers and purposely on top of me.
For 28 days of the month I wish Lily would put her bangs back in a clip. For 3 days of the month I can only stare at those bangs....I see nothing else....I will beg, plead and bribe her to PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF MAN KIND PUT THOSE BANGS BACK IN A CLIP.
For 28 days of the month I eat fairly horribly. For 3 days of the month, I eat like a kid their first week in college.
For 28 days of the month, I am with it during the day...not like I am doing aerobics mid afternoon, but at least awake. For 3 days of the month, I walk around in a coma blinded by headaches and counting the minutes until I can sleep again.
For 28 days of the month, I am productive. I get stuff done. For 3 days of the month, I look around not knowing what to do when or how. I am confused, boggled, overwhelmed and therefore do nothing. It's so bad, I can't even imagine I will ever be productive again. I believe my only solution is naps and ice cream.
For 28 days of the month, I make dinner. For 3 days of the month I wander around my kitchen trying to match ingredients but never managing much more than cereal.
But to fully bring this point home, today after school Lily said words I had been dreading. "The science fair is coming up". OH NO. I HATE SCIENCE FAIRS. If this would have come on any of those other 28 days I am guessing I would have been cringing but might have had some level of restraint regarding my own psychosis. But today, one of those 3 dreaded days, I just couldn't bear those words. The Science Fair. For days I had been hoping that neither one of my kids finds out about the science fair. I dread, hate, fear the science fair. Both girls have done plenty of science fairs and I am fairly confident neither one remembers anything about what they learned. I think they remember the actual fair and how fun it is running around with all of the kids. But I am certain they have zero memory of the pain and agony that came before those glorious moments at the fair. So when today, Lily said "Andrea and I are doing the science fair together", I nearly fainted. I just said "nope. We aren't doing science fairs this year". I could hear how that sounded and I think I was actually moaning when I said it. Probably even whining. I felt badly that she felt badly but not today, not now. I HATE SCIENCE FAIRS. So there you have it - proof that PMS is real. When a rational intelligent mom tells her enthusiastic 3rd grader "no way" to an American past time like the science fair, we have proof. It's real.

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Chocolate Long John

2011 Update thus far....
Well I am pretty sure when I woke up this morning determined to exercise some level of discipline with my food intake, the chocolate long john donut from Marianos wasn't part of the plan. However, 6 hours later and a bit on the hungry side, I found it to be the perfect lunch. Some day soon, I will focus. I know what to do but I am definitely a bit ADD in life...I really can only focus on a few things at once. So for now, it's work and the Ed. Foundation Spring event. To truly eat well and focus on exercise, I need nothing to stop me. Basically I need nothing else to do! That's pathetic but true. So, for now I give thanks that I am not diabetic or 400 lbs given my diet in the last 2 months.
I am showing condos in the Gold Coast of Chicago and being in the city is right up my alley. Even the challenge of where to park gets me pretty excited. I am a city girl who wants a country home for "holiday". Real estate is good. It's not dead. It's very much kickin' and I think 2011 will see some huge improvements in both home sale prices and length of time on the market. Perhaps forever an optimist, but my gut tells me that there is a shift out there. Saying that, I think that sellers who won't accept reasonable offers don't really want to move and buyers who want to see 129 homes don't really want to buy. But for people who want to "make it happen", this is a great time.
For the first day back to school this past Monday, I was chilled. Whatever happens, happens. People were calling me w/ school questions and I didn't have the answers but more amazingly, I didn't even care. I was so chilled out. 24 hours later I was screaming at Maeve for not getting ready fast enough since she didn't get up early enough for bad. I even let little Peter Nicoll have it for stalking my every move. I stood here at 7:50 wondering where my chilled out attitude was and then I remembered how I was going to "accept myself in 2011!". When I realized that it's okay to be chilled AND it's okay to yell at the morning chaos, I felt better. Both are really fine. A work in progress.....that's fo sho.