Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Realtor or Social Worker?

I know I do not come across as a polished business tycoon.  I know that I am more of a "sit down with a cup of tea and chat" kind of Realtor.  I can recognize the difference for sure.  When I first became a Realtor (9 years ago!), I was driving my minivan and met an "old school" Realtor at a house.  She pulled up in her big ole Caddy, carried a briefcase and was wearing a pant suit.  I wondered if I'd ever become her.  Clearly - that's not happened so far. I still drive a mini van, my "briefcase" is the same bag you'd see 20 year old girls carry on campus and the only suit I wear is a bathing suit.  So my casual yet personable approach has perhaps, just maybe, given off the vibe that I am also some visiting nurse/social worker.  And it's true, I did spend a decade in social work so I guess it's not a stretch but come on.... Below are some of the things I've learned during the first time I've met potential sellers/buyers.

"My Grandchildren haven't spoken to me in 14 years and when they called me today I gave them the 4 letter word..."fuck you"...

"My wife doesn't know you're here because she hates me and disagrees with everything I do."

"My kid's  families live here once and a while and never pay rent or clean up but that's because my son is unemployed and runs out of food stamps and his daughter is a witch so we kicked them out".

"Go ahead and look around the house, I'm watching golf." (and smoking and drinking)

"My husband and I were pretty God-damned proud of what we accomplished so there's no way I'm taking down all of my art."

"My wife won't take her meds and won't let me leave the house.  I only get to leave when I drive her places".

Well - the list goes on and on but I'll stop here....  But my point is don't be surprised if the next time you see me, I'm wearing a suit and high heels, have an ear piece in as my phone and roll up in a Lincoln.


No comments: