So today Peter flipped a lid b/c Lily unbuckled him (per my request) instead of me. So I am in front of St. Mark's coaxing him out of the car b/c I not only have to get him in, I have to get the girls over to Fairview and get me to my hair appt. asap (a girl has her priorities!). So I go the length of putting him back in the seat and re-buckling him and then unbuckling him again. That wasn't good enough. Cry, cry, cry - refusal to leave car. I say "what about snack? What about show-n-tell? Nora, cookies, playing??? What about me getting the girls to Fairview on time? What about the play doh, the loft and the block room?". After I used every possible motivation to move it, I pulled him out myself. The kid flipped out. Then he refused to take his coat off. So I explain to the teachers what has upset him so much - that lily unbuckled him instead of me. I mean, this is totally rational and of course, completely normal. We all laugh and one of the teachers had to PULL HIM OFF OF ME. Usually, I am so sympathetic to any pain he might have and as you may recall, the last time he did this when I forgot his backpack, even I got a little teary. NOT TODAY. This was beyond ridiculous. So i just walked out and wished the teachers good luck.
So, on to Fairview. I pull up and say "you guys will be excited - I made ham and cheese today instead of PBJ's". Maeve said "did you put mayo on it?". I proudly say "yep". She runs off in joy. Then lily asked the same thing and again, with such pride that I remembered that lily does NOT like mayo, I say "nope". She said "WHAT???? I LOVE MAYO". You do? Does she? I have no idea who likes what in this family. So I say"don't worry, you will still like it". She replies w/ "no I won't". So I say "I guess you won't". I closed the door and mumbled "beat it kid" to myself. I mean, seriously, I have a hair appointment.
No comments:
Post a Comment