Tuesday, March 9, 2010

It would be so much easier...

It would be so much easier if people just "got it". It's so easy, it really is. I say "don't do that or you can do this". Simple, right? Wrong. Rebel, bitch, moan, complain, cry, rebel some more and what do you get? You get "well now you can't do this". And then the worst part comes from their shock. "WWHHAATT???? I can't do that? You are so mean?". No, I am not mean. I simply said "if you do that, you can't do this and you chose to do that, which means you can't do this." So simple. So ridiculously simple. Somehow, every other day, we butt up against total ridiculousness. I can barely even type about it b/c it's so beyond stupid. And STILL this person is her in room, crying and bawling at the great injustices of life. Really? I can barely listen. Why can't we just go like this..."hey, if you do that, you can't do this". "Oh, okay. I really really want to watch American Idol so I certainly won't scream at grown ups". Great! Perfect. Simple.

But the same goes for work. People often just don't "get it". Another agent that I work and I keep laughing about how sick we are of our own voices b/c we say the same stuff over and over that even we get sick of it.

So all of this got me thinking - is there something that I don't get? I can't think of anything but I am sure there is something I don't just "get". I guess this is what I don't get. I don't get ridiculousness.

No comments: