My mother kept her emotions in check when I was growing up. Very rarely could I see that we had pushed her straight over the edge. I do remember two times she had had enough and once threw a bowl of walnuts and once threw a glass angel. Let me clarify, NOT at us. Both times we deserved the wrath and I say "we" b/c as much as my brother was the golden child, I clearly remember him standing there next to me when it happened.
It should be no surprise that when I loose my cool, I throw stuff. Again, never at anyone...(well maybe there were a couple of times the throw was directed more towards a human...). Today, it was Peter's water bottle.
Let's back the truck up -
At 6:30 this morning Maeve wanted to argue about why I keep saying she likes things she doesn't like. Since summer her vocabulary consists of "you always" or " you never". I have come to accept this language and for the most part, ignore it. But this morning, when far from the caffeinated level I need to be at to function, she wanted to list the things I say she "likes" that she doesn't like. And "never did like". The list went on for a while and consisted of teachers, food, shows, etc..... I held my hand up and said "no more words". Maeve, "why, I am just trying to have a discussion about something that.....". NO MORE WORDS. Finally silence.
Then an hour later my continually disgruntled middle served up the typical responses to my questions. Her words were mixed with a tone of "you are the biggest idiot alive". Now when you call her out on this, she starts crying claiming you are so mean. So it's not easy to navigate the psychosis of a 10 year old but I did my best. She was aggravated that I asked her why she doesn't want to use a certain backpack in the house. She was snarly at best that I asked her why she changed clothes and finally she was ranting that I love Peter the best. (I love him the best b/c I asked her why she doesn't like the Landsend backpack?????) Usually this could go on and on but Mama had enough so we separated and when it was time for her to leave the house, I opened the door, she exited and I closed the door. Sad that we didn't have our usual sweet good-bye I was tempted to open the door and say "bye sweetie" then I heard her words from 10 minutes before - "you are the worst person in the world". See ya.
About 30 minutes later, my sweet angel boy argued once again about pants then the jacket and finally his water bottle. He is only going to bring the camouflage water bottle. Well, of course, I can't find that one....so I say, "how about this water bottle?". Peter falls to the ground in total collapse. WHAT???? This is just a god damn water bottle. This should be simple. MAMA IS WEARING OUT!!! So I throw the water bottle back into the pantry and say, "we are out of here...pack it up....we are going to the bus.....I am done with this nonsense......I can't keep arguing about simple stuff.....". As we walk in silence to the bus stop, Peter walked about 10 feet behind me. I hear him say, "I'm going to step on the cracks and break her back". Well to be honest, I had to laugh to myself.
No comments:
Post a Comment