Tuesday, April 17, 2012

The Adventures of Mariano's

I've never seen such an overwhelmingly successful venture as this grocery store that came to us 2 summers ago, Mariano's. In an economy when opening up a new business can certainly be challenging, Mariano's just must have known what they were doing. I mean, we all need groceries but we were all already buying groceries somewhere else. So what is it?

I'm going to go out on a limb and say it's part Happy Hour and part European vacation and part necessity. This all sounds a bit glamorized but the part about Happy Hour isn't far off - if you don't want to see someone you know or socialize DON'T GO TO MARIANO'S EVER. Something happened a few weeks ago that had never happened since they opened. I went to Mariano's and didn't see one single person I knew. Not one. Crazy since last Sunday I counted and I saw 8 people that I actually know enough to talk with....which is why you have to pad your shopping time for chatting. Okay - the European vacation part might be exaggerating the point but it does certainly offer some fun more exotic items like unbelievable cheeses, breads, pastries and LOVE the salad/soup bars. And there's the necessity part b/c you certainly can't live without milk, bread and in our case, frozen waffles.

Saying all this, it's still a grocery store. So the process can be laborious. There's still not a day that I don't love walking in there - smelling the orange juice, hearing the piano, wondering who's there. I'm optimistic that I can make this shopping trip efficient and focused. I am energetic and ready - despite having to have to park across the street and/or be waived in my police monitoring the traffic flow. Whatev - I am a tough girl. I am ready. Usually in the produce, I thrive - I know exactly where and what I need to do. Through the salad bar area, I weaken a bit - having already used up a lot of energy strategizing the veggies and my cart etc. The Deli - the deli is a real pivotal moment- this is gut check time people. You've got to dig deep and keep your cool. This past Sunday, I was #24 and they had just announced #80. I actually had to stand there and think about the math on this one....what? When? WHAT???? But alas, I always survive. However by the middle of the store, it can become tiring! (it's just like when we got new washer/dryer and I LOVED doing laundry ....for a while...and then one day, it was just laundry again!) That's about the time that nutrition and prices fall off your list of priorities. No longer can you give a shit if there are 7 grams or sugar 27 grams of sugar, put it in the damn cart and get the hell out of here. $4 or $5.99 - no one cares, get it - get out. By the milk section, I usually can barely concentrate. I am in a full blown talk-to-myself-out loud state of mind just to remain focused. I no longer make eye contract with people I know b/c I've got to get out of here!! And nothing less than pure panic can set in if you realize that you have to go back 3 aisles to get something you forgot, or worse - go back to produce!!!....A mere impossibility. And how in the hell am I going to get all of this crap in my car and then in my house and then in my cabinets. You know I actually drove around killing time once just to wait for Rob to get home and help me unload.

And just think, I start my grocery shopping with a spring in my step and I end it barely conscience. Maybe I should shop somewhere else. Somewhere not so crowded. Somewhere not so busy. Yea right! Mariano's might kick my ass from time to time but it also kicks the ass of every other grocery store out there.

No comments: