Just as a follow up to my last post....here's how my journey from the couch is progressing!
I just finished my 7th day of training (bc you only run/walk every other day and sometimes there are 2 days of rest between days...which I secretly love!). Yesterday I ran (and by "ran" I mean slowly jog and by slowly jog I mean sometimes slower than I typically even walk!) Anyway, I "ran" 5 minutes, walk 3 minutes - three times yesterday. A total of 24 minutes. I must say that I am in SHOCK. I am in shock that 2 weeks ago I was literally tortured at the hands of the 1 minute run/1 minute walk scenario. Yesterday I ran 5 minutes and the first time I looked at the stopwatch, I had 35 seconds left....that is HUMONGOUS! Add that to my overwhelming hatred of movement, muscle usage, sweat and being out of breath - it's a miracle this thing is coming together.
Do I feel better?
Again - I don't finish the training and want to climb a mountain - I typically have my sights set on a nap. BUT I feel mentally better. Probably because I'm doing something I thought I couldn't do. I feel proud that I finished because at least 42 times during the training, I consider the many excuses I could create for stopping. Here are a few....
my toes itch
my feet are numb
I have to pee
I am too thirsty
I'm too cold
I'm running out of time
I don't "feel it" today (Like i EVER feel it!)
What helps?
Well I've done a lot of different things in an effort to distract me from the pain and agony during the run. I've listened to podcasts, I've ran outside, I've ran on a treadmill I've listened to my Ipod and I've run with Rob. Running with Rob was no good -well, it made me not quit bc I wouldn't want to quit in front of him but he was talking and probably wanted me to respond but because I had no breath, I couldn't gather up any words or respones....I just nodded. Podcasts might work if I could find some super interesting ones...I need like a murder mystery/switched at birth kind of storyline. Treadmills don't work for me - hard time finding my stride, too many onlookers, too much pressure.... The best combo for me is running on this inside track (and it's free) where only seniors hang out while listening to the Top Hip Hop Hits via Pandora on my phone.
What's next?
Well - I have to register for the Run - making it official. The debut of my athleticism. (Feel free to join me on 5/18 for the Got 2 Run Race for Education! www.got2run.org!)
Tomorrow I am suppose to run for 7 minutes. SEVEN MINUTES???!!!! My God.
Stay tuned!
No comments:
Post a Comment