As I have stated already, I dread exercise....no good at it, too arthritic, too sore, too busy, not my thing. But as I have also previously stated, it's necessary in life...to feel good, to be less arthritic, to be less sore, to be stronger.
I really hate to say "couch" to anything because it makes it seem like I was just laying around all day watching The Price is Right. Not true. I was "moving". Moving in my house cleaning and cooking. Moving from desk to office to car to home to car to store back to desk. I was no where near a couch.
Last year I volunteered at a race. I have always longed to be a part of anything with a "K". I admire people when they say "I ran a 5K"....."I signed up for the 10K Run for the _______". I love that. What is this "K"? How do people become runners? Certainly that ship has sailed because I am 2 months from 45 and try as I might in the past, am not involved in "K's". So I volunteered because I could at least do that. It was awesome. Beautiful morning, palpable energy, cheerleaders, supporters, stretching, grouping for photos....it surpassed my expectations. And despite the fact that I did not run that race, I remember driving home feeling healthier. (A lot of exercise and wellness happens in my mind).
So this year I thought I'd give this thing a try. I printed out the Couch to 2.62 (which is a funny nod to the actual 26.2 marathon). Day 1 - jog 1 minute, walk 1 minute 10 times. It was horrific. Terrible. Painful. Boring. Cold. My IPOD cord worked off and on. I couldn't breathe. BUT I did it. Saying that I felt great when it was done is an overstatement since, if socially appropriate, I would have laid down in this guy's lawn at the moment I hit that last minute. But mentally - I DID feel great. Because despite the agony, I did what was asked of me on Day 1. The next 2 sessions, Day 2 and 3, where run 2 minutes, walk 4 minutes 5 times. I did both sessions. One easier than the other but both sucked. My ankles, my calves, my shins, my quads, my breathing....BUT I did it. Yesterday was Day 4. Run 3, walk 3 - do it 4 times. I can honestly say it was no better...thoughts of 'I'm not a runner....how can anyone do this...when will this be easy.....' crossed my mind a hundred times. BUT I did it. Here's the real point - one day 1 minute seemed horrific but 1 week later 1 minute was easy. Still getting to 2 minutes and 3 minutes and more still hurt and make me question why in the hell people don't just lay around on their couch but each subsequent minute gets easier when more is piled on. I don't feel physically good at the end - my hope is that someday I do. But I do feel happy and proud that I finished it. I have no idea if I'll make it for that 2.62 race in May. None. I'm not this so determined/nothing's going to stop me girl..... A LOT could stop me. Believe me. But I am happy to report - Week 1 of training - CHECK!
No comments:
Post a Comment