Monday, October 26, 2009

It's been a week...

Well - It's been a week since my last post. That sentence sounded like a confession - "forgive me bloggers, for it's been an entire week since my last post".
Well, what can I say. Lice came back. I was PMSing (which deserves a post of it's own). Peter was sick. It seems it rained ever minute since my last post. And my house is out of control w/ crap b/c our basement being finished. I climb over crap. And I literally climbed over crap this week b/c Harper was sick again w/ puking. Ahhhh....what a glorious week.
Remember when lice hit our family almost 3 weeks ago and I was so positive, such a good lice role model? Well, that's over. I hit a wall. Something happened when the lice came back that I can't explain. Except for that NOTHING nothing nothing could make me feel better. Not music, not a nap, not my Yankee candles. Nothing. I was a bitch. You know how it if to be really hungover but you have to work anyway - you have to GO ON. That's how it felt. Like all I was truly capable of was about 10 minutes of existence and then I was done. But again, I kept in mind my usual mantra - It's not cancer. Rules to live by. So if I ever DO get cancer, I am going to be shit out of luck.
So we plugged along. Rob was off work for much of this bout so he helped a ton by vacuuming ever square inch of the house. I laundered and treated and picked and laundered. I cried and pouted and cried and pouted more. I was basically a big baby from Wednesday until yesterday. I probably felt better yesterday b/c I was actually sick of being miserable. And I just turned it around.
All of this lice business isn't just physical work - it means my kids miss school, can't have play dates, and when it's raining - can't go outside. Caged. We were caged.
But today is a new day. It's a pretty sad state of affairs when the root canal that i am scheduled for today isn't really phasing me. Could be the Valium, but I think it's because I haven't really had time to dwell on it. Usually the dental work makes me want to puke and hide. But I am doing just fine this morning. The more I think about it, the more I guess it is the Valium.
And of course, I have other things to discuss....work, clients, people. But no time this morning. I just switched laundry, have to shower, get lily up to pick through her hair and pray she can get through the lice gates at the nurses office and get back to school. She NEEDS it. I NEED it.

No comments: