Well I will start w/ yesterday - no Monday.
On Monday I had my usual medication that is mandatory for me to have dental work. A little Valium and some nitrous. This time it wasn't as effective....I wasn't AS happy as last time. But I survived. A few hours later I went to a funeral. A gut wrenching and beautiful funeral. If there is one thing FO SHO w/ me is that my emotions run the gamut and are at surface level at all times just waiting to be called upon. This is no different this day. My tears were for others. For my friend and her family and their devastation. I could feel their pain in the eulogy and in the priest's words and in the many of attendees. It was a tough one. And it was one of those where you leave thinking.." I am going to live my life differently - i will make big changes - I will appreciate every moment". Hopefully I can follow through on some of that but we all know - even w/ the best intentions, we all slip back into the day to day.
Next - Tuesday. I wake up about 45 minutes later than usual. Could NOT drag my arse out of bed. I am sure it was a bit fat combo of the remaining Valium, Novocaine, nitrous, and sadness that ran through my body the day before. Nonetheless, this 45 mintues indulgence caused me to leave the house about 4 minutes late. For me - that's a big deal. I HATE being late - Well, actually I HATE being on time - I want to be early. So on the way to St. Mark's we are stopped by a train. I had the audacity to look at some elderly drivers and wonder why the hell they couldn't wait until later to be out and about - b/c I mean, seriously - they have all day, don't they? Anyway , as we waited for the train, all I could hope for was that this wasn't a color day. Or a shape day. If I walk in that school and see everyone in blue or bringing circled shaped items for the board, I will just die. As luck would have it - we were safe. Just a regular ole day. Thank goodness.
And last but not least - and Rob feels this isn't Blog appropriate conversation - but I shall not be shamed by this. WE have lice. Yes, the Nicolls have lice. Discovered last night. Treated ever since. I KNOW we will survive it but the process is taking a few months off my life. There is no doubt. But I wanted to take this time to say a few thank yous...
I am thankful for Paula who diagnosed and then SHOPPED for me last night in the dark and wind.
I am thankful for my Mom who took control and told me what to do - I say guide me and I will follow.
I am thankful that I had ZERO plans today to rearrange.
I am thankful for our new 75 gallon hot water heater that has kept up w/ the 7 showers and 5 loads of laundry on high heat.
I am thankful for Jenny who brought me her Grandma Rio's spaghetti sauce and meatballs.
I am thankful for my husband who is always an equal partner and will help me as soon as he arrives home.
I am thankful for Mrs. Sakoufakis for putting off class elections until tomorrow JUST to wait for Maeve.
I am thankful for Mrs. Collins who as always makes me feel better when I call school. Always.
So now, I am off to vacuum the car - to delouse it. And then we are going to Daily Queen b/c DQ helps everything -even lice.
No comments:
Post a Comment